The Angeline Award is given every two years by the Ursuline Sisters of Louisville to a woman who reflects the spirit and Charism (special gift) of Saint Angela Merici, foundress of the Ursuline Sisters. The recipient demonstrates leadership in addressing the challenges that face women and families today and currently has a connection with the Ursuline Sisters of Louisville.

The Ursuline Sisters of Louisville adopted the cross with a flame as their Congregation’s symbol in 1974. The symbol was designed by Sister Brigid Kirn and adapted from Sister Benedicta O’Connor’s art work. The flame is the universal symbol of God’s consuming love and the light of Christ received at Baptism. The Angeline Award is a rendition of the flame that symbolizes God’s love and service to others.

Congratulations To Our 2022 Angeline Award Winners:

Congratulations to Carmen de la Cuba Laurel and Joy Green, our two Angeline Award winners. This year’s nominees were exemplary and made our nominations committee job very challenging. We chose two women for 2022 only, as we have not given the award out since 2018. Carmen and Joy will be celebrated at a Mass at the Motherhouse in October.



The Ursuline Sisters of Louisville honored Dr. Cynthia Crabtree as the 2018 Angeline Award recipient at a Mass in the Motherhouse Chapel, fittingly on the feast day of Saint Ursula.

Ursuline President Sister Janet M. Peterworth presented the award to Dr. Crabtree and said, “Dr. Cynthia Crabtree is Ursuline through and through—from her days at St. Clement, then high school at Angela Merici and now serving others as president of Sacred Heart Schools.”

Read More About Dr. Crabtree >>



Past Recipients of the Angeline Award

2018: Dr. Cynthia Crabtree, Louisville
2016: Cory Lea Lockhart, Louisville
2014: Carolyn Neely, Cumberland, MD
2012: Patricia Ann Geier, Louisville
2010: Paula Fangman, Shelbyville, KY
2008: Mary Ann Kopp Hubbs, Louisville
2006: Mary Louise “Peasie” Fischer, Louisville
2004: Shannon Lockhart, Guatemala City
2002: Mary Kwan, Houston, TX
2000: Jane Thibault, Louisville
1998: Maria Scharfenberger, Louisville
1996: Margo Thompson Borders, Louisville
1994: Barbara Emrich Cassidy, Louisville†
1992: Juanna Gil Sanchez, Callao, Peru†
1991: Donna McKinney Hanson, Spokane, WA†